RESOLUTIONS AND RECOMMENDATIONS - TASK GROUP 3 HELD ON 17.12.91 AT 09H00 AT WORLD TRADE CENTRE.

Tabled:Minutes of the Steering Committee
Minutes of Task Group 3
Working documents for Terms of Reference for Working Groups 1 - 5
Agenda

Points of Clarification

1. Only the delegate or his substitute may participate on behalf of his organisation or party (proxies are not acceptable, insofar as one organisation may not represent any other).

Minutes were accepted and adopted.

Resolutions:

Working groups of Codesa

Identification of Working Groups These were finalised at the previous meeting.

Assignment of Working Groups

A sub-committee was appointed to peruse the documentation tabled by all parties to synthesize the recommendations. (These are presented separately).

The Sub-Committee:

Mr Coetsee	-	S A Government
Mr Omar		ANC
Mr Andrew	-	DP
Mr Mothibe	-	Boputhatswana Government
was appointed to	peruse th	ne documents.

Terms of Reference

To seek points of commonality To define terms of reference as neutral as possible To identify and list specific items to be included for discussion (Neutrality means to open the scope as wide as possible within the agenda of the item) EZJ

Functioning of Working Groups

Completed in previous meeting

Chairperson(s)

Codesa chairperson It was resolved that the two chairpersons Judges Mahomed and Schabort to be prevailed upon to be chairpersons for Codesa Steering Committee Chairperson The Chairperson must come from within the Steering Committee (Task Group 3 was not against a panel being selected) It was recommended that joint chairpersons be appointed No party should feel that they are being excluded Working Group Chairpersons Same principles as above

(It was recommended that the Steering Committee should keep in mind administrative needs of each group)

Task Group 3 recommends that the Steering Committee to keep Codesa chairpersons informed of the deliberations of Working Groups and the Steering Committee.

Way Forward

It was agreed that post Codesa1 the Steering Committee should become a management committee and that an executive (secretariat) be formed for the day-to-day running of the Codesa management committee.

Invitations to Non-Invited Organisations at Codesa 1 It was agreed that this issue could not be finalized and it was to be dealt with by the management committee.

That the formula used in inviting guests for Codesa 1 i.e. political parties and organisations, be recommended as the criteria for attending future Codesa plenary sessions.

Codesa Agenda

It was agreed that the first day of Codesa 1 be devoted to opening addresses and that the working agenda to begin on the Saturday and to be completed irrespective of the time it takes.

Working Groups

٩.

It was recommended that working group report backs be directly to Codesa and not through any other structures.

Functioning of Working Groups

It was recommended that working groups begin their deliberations towards the end of January to allow participant's preparation time.

Finance and Funding

It was recommended that finance should be available before the working groups commence deliberation with guidelines as to access to funding be given to all parties prior to working group deliberations.

Names of Participants to Working Groups should be submitted prior to the end of December 1991 to administration.

Venue

It was recommended that the venue should be in the Witwatersrand area and that venues would be selected taking into account financial constraints.

Mediation and Facilitation

It was resolved that this item was not urgent and would be considered at a later stage.

Present at Task Group 3 - 17.12.91

Name	Party	Fax No
M J Mahlangu	UPF	156-374149
H Ebrahim	TIC/NIC	012 284450
Y Mahomed (Aide)	TIC/NIC	031 3059422
A M Omar	ANC	021 959295
N M Phosa (Aide)		
Essop Pahad	SACP	836-8366
Ken Andrew	DP	021 685-3615
Mick Webb	Ciskei Govt	0401 92651
B R Tokota (Alt/Aide)	Ciskei Govt	0401 91189
Dipuo Mvelase (Bacp Alt)		836 8366
S N Sigcau	Transkei	0471 22874
S E Masango	Inando Yesizwa	01215 2471
K L M Mokoena	UPF	0156 24588
E N Ginindza	INM	01314 72184
Dr K Rajoo	Solidarity	3606099
C J April	Labour Party	
Dr B S Ngugane	IFP	03545 2036
A M Mncwango (Aide)	IFP	03545 2036
Chief M Nonkonyana	Transkei	0471 22874
R P Meyer	NP	
B M Tlakula	ХРР	(Airport Sun 23417)
Luwellyn Landers	Labour Party	Holiday Inn

TG026P.CPT (4) 1

NOTE

- 1. For documentation prepared by parties for consideration in determining Terms of Reference for Working Groups 1 5, see Task Group Three, 3 (Submissions).
- 2. For minutes of the Steering Committee referred to as having been tabled at the meeting, see folders filed under Steering Committee, Minutes and Agendas